Guard Your Heart

“Guard your heart above all else for it determines the course of your life” Proverbs 4:23.

This scripture is one of my favourites from The Bible. It instructs us as believers to be careful what we allow into us. I believe the gateway to our hearts are the eyes and ears. The things we see and hear settles in our heart, they become like seeds and they grow.

Let me explain; as a believer if you’re used to been around ‘negativity/carnality gathering’, your heart will be full of negativity/carnality therefore your reaction to everything would be carnal.
On the other hand, if you’re around spiritually-minded, positive people most likely your relation to things in life would be positive and spiritual.

The Bible is telling us to guard our hearts from any and everything that goes against the word of God. “Guarding” I believe in this context, does not only mean using the word of God to block carnality but also physically removing yourself from people or things that are likely to sow bad seeds into your heart.
For instance, there are certain people I wouldn’t hang around with as their speech or behaviour may sow negative seeds in my heart. (I still love them from far). Does that mean I’m ‘holier than thou’ or ‘Miss goody goody’?! Not at all! It means I am guarding my heart because I know and understand that no matter how smart or anointed I think I am if enough seeds are sown, eventually they’d start affecting my way of thinking and relation to issues of life.
The Bible states bad company corrupts good character (1 Corinthians 15:33).

Sometimes you may need to stay away from some family members and some people you love (I’ve been there). Now, I’m not trying to cause division but it’s so important to guard your heart from certain characters; your salvation depends on it. They can hinder your purpose and progress in your walk with Christ. Jesus warned His disciples in the book of Matthew 16:6 to beware of the “Yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees”.
I know you’re anointed and baptised in the Holy Ghost but please don’t ever stop guarding your heart. If you’re struggling with this, ask Jesus for strength. You cannot do it on your own.

‪#‎RestAndKnow‬
‪#‎SpiritualityOverCarnality‬
‪#‎GuardYourPreciousHear

Leave a Reply

