When Forgiveness Is Hard

Earlier this afternoon I felt offended by something someone had said to me. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and to be honest I was very annoyed, for hours (Yep! I know lol). This distracted me from my bible studies. I was finding it hard to forgive, I thought to myself, “wow this is too much for me I’ll take it up to God”. I prayed and started worshiping. Just then The Spirit of God reminded me of a prayer I’ve been praying for months; which is to love people the way God loves them. I just laughed with tears in my eyes, couldn’t believe it. My flesh wanted to yell “wait a min, she did me wrong, she was rude, why should I love her”

The Holy Spirit reminded me again that this is a chance to love her regardless of what she has done. So I prayed and asked God to give me strength to do this. I can tell you for sure the hurt didn’t disappear immediately but I knew that was the moment I had been praying for, for several moments. So what did I do? I thanked God for the moment, asked for forgiveness for refusing to forgive her initially and holding anger in my heart. And oh, also I sent her a kind word. Just to let you know, you don’t have to FEEL like forgiving to forgive. Forgive because your Father in Heaven has forgiven you and also it sets you free. It can be hard but we are all learning. Jesus knows it all so ask Him.

Leave a Reply

