Tame Your Mouth And Discipline Your Attitude…

I have come to realise that some of us Christians have grown wings. We feel that, because the resurrection of Christ gave us the opportunity to come to the Father without the help of a Priest, we don’t regard Leadership. I’m sorry to disappoint, but Christ did not come to abolish leadership.

We must be very careful how we treat and speak against Pastors and people in authority.
All through the Bible, people who stood against leadership were not spared; God caused Miriam to become leprous for speaking against Moses’ choice of a wife (Numbers 12:1-10). Korah, Dathan, Abiram and 250 other leaders rose against the authority of Aaron and Moses, they were swallowed up by the earth (Numbers 16:1-33). A lot more met destruction for going against the authority of God.

What most people don’t know is, when you go against godly leadership you are going against God; you are basically calling God unwise for making that person ‘head‘. God certainly would not take this lightly. Romans 13:2 says “So anyone who rebels against authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished”.

One may ask, “What if one’s doctrine is questionable?” I understand this as the Bible says “……….. many false prophets have gone out into the world” (1 John 4:1). My answer to that is, apply the spirit of discernment and PRAY FOR THEM. If you’re been led to correct, by all means do so in love however, make sure your heart is clean, meaning have a pure motive. Don’t speak out because you enjoy shaming your brother/sister. As mentioned in my previous post (You Need Help!), we are one body of Christ, therefore we should pick each other up when necessary as we all stumble in many ways. (James 3:2)

Avoid becoming overly friendly with leaders as this could cause boundaries to be crossed.

I remember a few years ago, I was traveling with some friends and a man of God’s name came up in our conversation. They spoke badly about him and his family. I wasn’t saved at the time but I knew it was wrong. Not correcting them, I knew that made me just as bad.
I realised later that, because she felt she knew the Pastor quite well (not necessarily in a bad way), she belittled his anointing. I really hope I’m not misunderstood here as I’m not insinuating everyone would do this. My point is, familiarity could open doors for disrespect, intentionally or unintentionally.

When the Bible said “Touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm” in Psalm 105:15 and 1 Chronicles 16:22, I believe it applies to every born again Spirit-filled/led Christian; from the cleaner of the church to the Bishop, therefore we must be very careful how we relate to the ‘least‘ in the Kingdom. The fact that one do not carry a ‘huge’ title, does not make them any less anointed.

Our walk with Christ isn’t a competition to see who sins the least nor who criticises the more. It amazes me how some folks spend their entire day monitoring and looking out for one another’s sin. This isn’t Christ-like at all. We get too much of this from unbelievers, we don’t need our very own to treat us the same.

Today, ask God to help you TAME YOUR MOUTH AND DISCIPLINE YOUR ATTITUDE.

I’m praying for you.

Blessings,

LadyEuny.

4 thoughts on “Tame Your Mouth And Discipline Your Attitude…

  1. “It amazes me how some folks spend their entire day monitoring and looking out for one another’s sin. This isn’t Christ-like at all”

    Yes, yes, yes and yes! God bless you for this! True words of wisdom. Thanks for sharing! – Cesca –

    Like

Leave a Reply

