The Convenient Christians…

Ever heard of “The Convenient Christians”? Well, there are different types of them but one thing that remain prominent is their attitude. They have an attitude of professing God’s love and doing His ONLY when it’s convenient for them or when they feel like it.

Can I be honest with you? I used to be one. I would profess my love for God only on Sundays especially during Praise & Worship or when I want to misquote the Bible to judge another person by it; it made me feel like other people saw me as perfect and I was glad. Little did I know this behaviour only exposed my ungodly desires. People around me may not have seen this but God did and He was not pleased. Thing is, I was not looking to grow in the kingdom by producing the fruits of the spirit (Galatians 5:22-23). I was happy been lukewarm as I did not want to commit fully to God.

Unfortunately, the church is full of “Convenient Christians”. They couldn’t care less about walking by faith and studying the Word. They want God to be their magician and sugar-daddy; giving them what they want, when they want it and after receiving, they disappear from His presence either in the physical or in the mind. That is how one could be sitting in church yet their mind would be somewhere else (another topic for another day).

A “Convenient Christian” wants the anointing without the commitment and studying, they want the big promotion without the long-suffering, they want the godly husband/wife without the biblical roles and responsibilities.

The children of Israel in the Bible in many occasions acted like “Convenient Christians”. God delivered them countless of times from their enemies yet after each deliverance they would turn their backs on Him by worshipping lesser gods until they run into another enemy or trouble, then they would go back to God (Judges 1,2 &3, Exodus 32, Numbers 14, etc).

Why must we remember God only in times of need or trouble? What are we doing to ourselves? Who do we think we are deceiving? God cannot be mocked. We must claim Him as our God in bad AND good times.

He is ever ready to carry our burdens (Matthew 11:28) however we must DWELL in Him. To dwell is to live in, to stay, to make resident at a particular place. If we want to experience His continuous protection then we must dwell in His presence (Psalm 91:1); it makes it super hard for the enemy to attack us. However, if we leave His presence, we are exposing ourselves to the arrows and shots of the enemy.

Before I end I will say (well, type) this, there is only ONE true Christian; and that is one who is led by the spirit of God (Romans 8:14) not by their flesh or season of life.

Today, ask Christ to change your heart and renew your mind to dwell in Him in all seasons of life.

I am glad that each time the enemy tries to entice me back to who I was, the Holy Spirit convicts my heart and draws me even closer to God. Gradually, He is working on me and changing my desires to His. We bless Jesus for His love and kindness which lasts forever.

Psalms 63:3

Because Your LovingKindness is better than life, My lips shall praise You.

I’m praying for you.

Blessings,

LadyEuny.

Leave a Reply

