Walk Your Own Walk… (Follow Christ, Not Men)

John 21:20-22

“Then Peter, turning around, saw the disciple whom Jesus loved following, who also had leaned on His breast at the supper, and said, “Lord, who is the one who betrays You?”     (21) Peter, seeing him, said to Jesus, “But Lord, what about this man?”
(22) Jesus said to him, “If I will that he remain till I come, what is that to you? You follow Me.”

Lately, I have been hearing God say to me “What is that to you, Eunice? You follow me.” “What is that to you? You follow me.”

The above scripture was Jesus’ response to Peter when he asked a question that did not concern him. He lost focus while following Jesus. Why did Peter do this? Certainly not his first time in loosing focus. Previously, he lost focus when he took his eyes off Jesus while walking on sea (Matthew 14:28-30). Nevertheless, Peter is recognised as one of the most influential men in the Bible. This goes to show anyone can loose focus.

I can’t help but ask, why do we loose focus? One way is by comparing one’s self to another. But why do we like to compare ourselves and our journey with other believers? Well, as I can only speak for myself I’ll say this; sometimes I feel I’m not holy enough, I’m not ‘purpose-minded’ enough, I’m not prayerful enough, other times I feel God doesn’t speak to me as much as He does with the believer next door. On the other hand, more than I care to admit, I know stretching my neck into another’s walk/journey contributes in making me feel not good enough.

Why do I do this? Why do we do this? Have we forgotten that we are meant to follow Christ and not other believers, who are just as sinful as we are yet saved by grace?
But hold on, what makes one think that the other believer is perfect or better?

Just because they share surfaces of their journey with you doesn’t mean they are not dealing with deeper issues. You have no idea what their journey is like or what they’re battling with.

As mentioned above, I have compared myself to others countless of times. In many instances, I have looked up at other believers and set targets to be exactly like them. Of course I failed, which in turn gave the enemy the green light to use my mind as his playground; he would whisper to me like “you are weak, God loves them more than He loves you”. What a complete waste of space that I created for him!

In Ghana West Africa, where I was born and had my primary education, the old folks used to say, it is an abomination to have a strong desire to be like someone else. I couldn’t agree more with this proverb.

Thing is, there is nothing wrong with been inspired and encouraged by another believer’s walk, it only becomes sinful when we imitate each other’s life because it is considered “great” in our eyes. They are blogging, so you blog, they have a title in church so you want one too, they are preaching behind the pulpit so you want to become a preacher too.

I want you to understand that our God-given purposes are not the same; I don’t believe God called every believer to be a blogger, singer or “pulpit-preacher”. (I used the word “pulpit-preacher” because even though one of our primary goals as Christians is to preach the good news as stated in Mark 16:15, this  doesn’t have to happen solely behind the pulpit).

Know that, you are not any less important because you have a different purpose.

1 Corinthians 12:15-17

“If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? (16) And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body? (17) If the whole body were an eye, where would be the hearing? If the whole were hearing, where would be the smelling?”

Stick to your purpose, if you don’t know what it is, pray and ask God to reveal it to you. Stay focused and follow Christ only.
Today, I encourage you to Walk Your Own Walk. Remember, you gave your life to follow Christ Not Men.

Psalms 118:8

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man”.

I’m praying for you.

Blessings,

LadyEuny.

Leave a Reply

